The Centenary Award

In 2011 the Biochemical Society introduced the Centenary Award to replace the Jubilee LectureThe Centenary Award is awarded annually to a biochemist of distinction by virtue of the impact of their research, along with commitment to build, support, and nurture talent within the scientific community.

The winner of the award is given:

  • The opportunity to present the Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins Memorial Lecture at a Society conference (the original award and medal are no longer a separate award)
  • The opportunity to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.
  • £3000 prize money
  • The Centenary medal. (The award was designed by the artist Tom Phillips).

Dame Kay Davies presented her award lecture as part of the Biochemistry Focus webinar series: From diagnosis to therapy in Duchenne muscular dystrophy.



Related Back to… Contact us

Get in touch with our Grants and  Awards departments on 0203 443 9539