The AstraZeneca Award

This award, generously supported by AstraZeneca, is made every 3 years in recognition of outstanding work which, through biomedical advances, leads to development of a new reagent or method. The research should have been carried out in a UK or Republic of Ireland laboratory.

The winner is given:

  • £2000 prize money
  • The opportunity to present a lecture at Biochemical Society event.
  • Invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.

Past recipients

The 2019 winner Ervin Fodor presented his award lecture at the Biochemical Society conference ‘Transcriptions in Health and Disease’ on 20-22 November 2019 in London, UK.

  • 2005: Noreen Murray
  • 2001: Steven Oliver
  • 1998: Steven Homans
  • 1995: C. Nick Hales

Related Back to… Contact us

Get in touch with our Grants and  Awards departments on 0203 443 9539