Teaching Excellence Award

The Teaching Excellence Awards are given annually to an employee in Higher Education. The award recognizes individual excellence, commitment to continuing professional development, commitment to students and colleagues, and sustained and continued impact. In 2022, this award was expanded to accept nominations in two categories: ‘Early Career’ and ‘Established Educator’. 

Nominations will first be considered by the Training Theme Panel and Education, Training and Public Engagement Committee and the final decision will be ratified by the Awards Committee. 

Each awardee is given:

  • £2,000 prize money 
  • A trophy 
  • The opportunity to speak at a Society event with an educational or training focus 
  • An invitation to submit an article to one of our Biochemical Society Journals, published by Portland Press, with any fees waived 

Each awardee is given:

  • Awarded annually 
  • Nominees should be employed in Higher Education and should demonstrate some or all of the following criteria:  
  • Individual excellence – develops and employs innovative and effective approaches to teaching and assessment in the molecular biosciences which successfully promote student learning and achievement 
  • Commitment to own continuing professional development – Undertakes professional development activities that actively influence and enhance the teaching and learning of molecular biosciences


  • Commitment to students and colleagues – Inspires students and colleagues to excel; shows awareness of the different needs of students; provides evidence of supporting teaching and learning beyond their own department and Institution; supports and guides students’ career choices and goals; champions the importance of excellence in molecular biosciences teaching.


  • Sustained and continued impact – contributes at a high level over a sustained period of time (not for a single activity), demonstrates impact nationally and/or internationally, commits to build, support, and nurture future talent.
  • Nominations are welcomed for 2 categories: ‘Early Career’ and ‘Established Educator’ 
  • Nominees can be either international or UK based 
  • This award is only open to individuals. 

The Committees will consider the following aspects of all nominations for the Teaching Excellence Awards as appropriate:

  • Individual excellence 
  • Commitment to own continuing professional development 
  • Commitment to students and colleagues 
  • Sustained and continued impact 
  • Other indicators of esteem demonstrated by the nominator      

Dave Lewis will present his award lecture on Wednesday 21 September at 15:00 BST as part of the Biochemistry Focus webinar series. Click here to register for this free webinar

Contact us

Get in touch with our Awards Department if you have any questions   


  • 2023: Barry Ryan
  • 2022: Dave Lewis
  • 2021: Rosemary Clyne
  • 2020: Jo Rushworth (De Montfort University, UK)
  • 2019: Luciane Vieira de Mello
  • 2018: Dee Scadden
Related Back to… Contact us

Get in touch with our Grants and  Awards departments on 0203 443 9539