This award recognizes an outstanding individual who has made an inspirational contribution to the biosciences and to industry–academia interactions. This award aims to recognize the achievements of an early to mid-career scientist who is within 20 years of PhD completion.

Nominees that have completed their PhD more than 20 years ago but who have had a career break e.g. through family commitments, illness or other good reasons, will be considered by the Awards Committee. For full details on this and how to nominate please click here

The recipient of the award is given:

  • The opportunity to deliver a lecture at a Society event
  • Prize money of £2000
  • A trophy
  • Invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication

2019 winner Maddy Parsons


  • 2020: Matthew Dalby ( University of Glasgow, UK)
  • 2019 Maddy Parsons (King’s College London, UK)
  • 2018 Stefan Knapp