Early Career Research Awards

These Biochemical Society awards recognize the impact of research carried out in the molecular biosciences by early career scientists i.e. those who have no more than six years postdoctoral research experience. It is expected that successful candidates will have produced international quality research outputs, and be able to demonstrate ambitions and aspirations consistent with the potential to achieve world-leading status. Research areas include but are not limited to: genes, energy and metabolism, signalling, biotechnology, biological systems, molecular structure and function and cells. 

Each awardee is given

  • The opportunity to present a lecture at a Society conference
  • £1000 prize money
  • A medal
  • Is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication

Maria Marti Solano will present her award lecture at Small G proteins in cellular signalling and disease between 12-15 September 2022 – register now! >

Tom Deegan will present his award lecture at the UK DNA Replication Meeting between 6-8 September 2022 – register now! >

Nominees must have no more than six years postdoctoral research experience at the time of the awards nomination deadline (31 January).  Nominees should have produced international quality research outputs, a significant proportion of which should arise from work performed in the UK or Republic of Ireland. 

Those that have more than six years postdoctoral research experience and who have had a career break e.g. through family commitments, illness or other good reasons, will be considered by the Awards Committee. For full details on this and how to nominate a candidate for an Early Career Research Award, please click here

Criteria for nomination


  • 2023: Amy Vincent
  • 2023: Tom Deegan
  • 2022: Maria Marti Solano
    2022: Hendrik Messal
  • 2021: Kirsty Wan
  • 2021: Roser Vento-Tormo
  • 2020: Andrew Hammond
  • 2020: Sara Priego Moreno
  • 2019: Michael Booth (University of Oxford, UK) – Biotechnology
  • 2019: Ana Casañal (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge, UK) – Genes
  • 2019: Qian Wu (University of Cambridge, UK) – Signalling
  • 2018: Wojciech Galej (European Molecular Biology Laboratory, France) – Molecular Structure and Function
  • 2018: Yasin Dagdas (Gregor Mendel Institute-Vienna) – Cells
  • 2017: Alexander Büll (University of Düsseldorf, Germany) – Biotechnology
  • 2017: Edward Chouchani (Dana–Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, USA) – Energy and Metabolism
  • 2017: Thi (Kelly) Nguyen (University of Cambridge, UK) – Genes
  • 2017: Maria Romina Girotti (University of Manchester, UK) – Signalling
  • 2016: Anne-Marie Krachler (University of Birmingham, UK) – Biological Systems
  • 2016: Bungo Akiyoshi (University of Oxford, UK) – Cells
  • 2016: Joseph Marsh (MRC HGU, University of Edinburgh, UK) – Computational Biology
  • 2016: Anthony Roberts (Birkbeck, University of London, UK) – Molecular Structure and Function
  • 2015: Paul Elliot (MRC LMB Cambridge, UK) – Signalling
  • 2015: Patricia Muller (MRC TU Leicester, UK) – Genes
  • 2015: Rozbeh Baradaran (MRC MBU Cambridge, UK) – Energy and Metabolism
  • 2015: Glyn Hemsworth (University of York, UK) – Biotechnology
  • 2014: Melina Schuh(MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK) – Cells
  • 2014: John Burke (MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK) – Molecular Structure and Function
  • 2013: Joe Yeeles (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, USA) – Genes
  • 2013: Alison Parkin (University of York, UK) – Energy and Metabolism
  • 2013: Kristopher Clark (University of Dundee, UK) – Signalling
  • 2012: Tracey Gloster (University of St. Andrews, UK) – Molecular Structure and Function
  • 2012: Sovan Sarkar (Whitehead Institute, MIT, USA) – Cell Biology
  • 2012: Sander van Kasteren (Netherlands Cancer Institute, The Netherlands) – Biotechnology and Bioinformatics
  • 2012: Vidya Chandran (Birkbeck College, University of London, UK) – Mechanisms of Development and Disease
  • 2011: Alena Krejci  (University of Cambridge, UK) – Genes
  • 2011: Taufiq Rahman (University of Cambridge, UK) – Signal Tranduction 
  • 2010: M Madan Babu (University of Cambridge, UK) – Biotechnology and bioinformatics
  • 2010 Rene Frank (University of Cambridge, UK) – Molecular structure and function
  • 2010: Jeremy Carlton (King’s College London, UK) – Cell biology
  • 2009: Araxi Urrutia (University of Bath, UK) – Genes 
  • 2009: Paul Curnow (University of Bristol, UK) – Bioinformatics and Metabolism
  • 2009: David Komander (Institute of Cancer Research, UK) – Signal Transduction

Related Back to… Contact us

Get in touch with our Grants and  Awards departments on 0203 443 9539