The Biochemical Society has opened nominations for its 2023 Awards, which recognize established researchers as well as scientists in the early stages of their career, across the molecular biosciences sector. 

Professor Colin Bingle, Professor of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology at the University of Sheffield, and Chair of the Biochemical Society’s Awards Committee, says: “The Biochemical Society Awards’ annual programme provides us with the opportunity to celebrate excellence across the biosciences community. The past two years has confirmed the vital importance of the biosciences and we are keen to receive nominations from all aspects of biochemistry and acknowledge the diversity of the discipline. If you know a talented bioscientist, then please nominate them for one of these prestigious accolades.”

Award categories open for 2023 are:

  • The Centenary Award
  • The Colworth Award
  • Early Career Research Awards
  • Heatley Medal and Prize
  • Industry and Academic Collaboration Award
  • International Award
  • Excellence in Science Award sponsored by Portland Press Ltd
  • The Sir Philip Randle Lecture
  • Teaching Excellence Award
  • The Biochemical Society Award
  • The Thudichum Medal

Each year the Biochemical Society presents a series of awards that recognize excellence and achievement in both specific and general fields of science. There are 11 award categories open in 2023 and nominations are welcome from across the UK and overseas. Nominations that reflect the diversity of the bioscience community are positively encouraged.

This year, The Biochemical Society Award is open to individuals and teams for the first time. Nominations are sought for candidates or teams who have demonstrated an outstanding impact in the field of virology and vaccinology.

Candidates are nominated by their peers and the winners are agreed by a judging panel of respected scientists, from across a range of different scientific areas. All of the awards and medal lectureships carry prize money and, as part of the award, winners will be given the opportunity to deliver a lecture in 2023 and invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication. 

The deadline for nominations is 31 January 2022.

Visit our Awards page for more information.