The Biochemical Society is pleased to announce the winners of its Diversity in Science Grants 2019. These grants are awarded to support research, projects or events which aim to address issues relating to diversity and inclusion in science, technology, engineering and maths.

The 2019 winners are:

  • Alfredo Carpineti: STEM for Queer Youth, Wiltshire
  • Brynley Pearlstone: SciCurious Podcast
  • Cally Haynes: Women in Supramolecular Chemistry – impact through online engagement
  • Claire Davies: Taking Pride in STEM, Exeter
  • Cristina Garcia Timermans: Women in Science Day 2020, Belgium
  • Emma Rand: Creating impact from code for women and underrepresented groups, York
  • Hephzi Tagoe: Let off steam, Essex
  • Jane Montague: Inspiring Women’s Engagement in Science-Based Careers, Derbyshire
  • Rhianna Jones: (In)Visible: Celebrating the Hidden Diversity of LGBT+ Scientists Through History, Wrexham

Dr David Pye, Honorary Policy Officer at the Biochemical Society.

“We were delighted with the breadth and quality of applications this year, and were pleased to award nine grants. Increasing equality, diversity and inclusion in STEM is hugely important to the Biochemical Society and these grants are one way we can support community led projects. We hope to work with our grant recipients to help disseminate outputs from their projects and share learning across the sector.”

Our Diversity in Science grants 2020 will open for applications in September, and are open to applications from all areas of STEM.