The Novartis Medal and Prize is awarded annually in recognition of contributions to the development of any branch of biochemistry. The award is for work carried out in the UK or Republic of Ireland but is open to candidates of any nationality.

The recipient of the Prize receives the Novartis Medal and £3000 prize money.  The award winner is given the opportunity to present a lecture at a Society conference, and the awardee is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.

The award was donated in 1964 by the Ciba Laboratories, Horsham (later Ciba-Geigy).

The 2017 winner Doreen Cantrell (University of Dundee, UK) presented her lecture on 22 November at Charles Darwin House, London, UK. The lecture was live streamed and you can watch the video here.  

The 2018 winner of the Novartis Medal and Prize is Laurence Pearl (University of Sussex, UK),  details about his award lecture presentation and how to attend will be added in 2018.

2019 Recipient: Caroline Dean

Past recipients