In 2011 the Biochemical Society introduced the Centenary Award to replace the Jubilee Lecture

The Centenary Award is awarded annually to a biochemist of distinction from any part of the world.

The winner of the award is given the opportunity to present the Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins Memorial Lecture at a Society conference (the original award and medal are no longer a separate award) and is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.

The Lecturer receives £3000 prize money and the Centenary medal. The award was designed by the artist Tom Phillips.

Past recipients

  • 2019: R. John Ellis
  • 2018: Frank McCormick
  • 2017: Salvador Moncada
  • 2016: Patrick Cramer
  • 2015: Chris Marshall