This award, generously supported by AstraZeneca, is made every 3 years in recognition of outstanding work which, through biomedical advances, leads to development of a new reagent or method. The research should have been carried out in a UK or Republic of Ireland laboratory.

The awardee receives £2000 prize money and is given the opportunity to present a lecture at Biochemical Society event. The awardee is invited to submit an article to a Society-owned publication.

Past recipients

  • 2019: Ervin Fodor
  • 2016: Carol Robinson (pictured)
  • 2013: Alec Jeffreys
  • 2010: Bonnie Wallace
  • 2007: Michael Stratton