This award was initially introduced in 2001 with the intention of widening recognition of excellence to span more diverse fields of endeavour within, or related to, the molecular biosciences.

In 2022, the remit of this Award was widened to accept nominations in two categories: ‘Significant breakthrough or achievement’ and ‘Sustained Excellence’. Biochemical Society Awards are now presented annually to individuals, teams, and organizations.

The recipient is given:

  • A grant to attend a relevant event or training course 
  • A trophy or medal  
  • The opportunity to present a lecture at a Society event or webinar 
  • An invitation to submit an article to one of our Biochemical Society Journals, published by Portland Press, with any fees waived

Eligibility Criteria

  • Awarded annually 
  • Open to all fields of endeavour within, or related to, the molecular biosciences 
  • Nominations are welcomed for two categories: ‘Significant breakthrough or achievement’ and ‘Sustained Excellence’  
  • Nominees must demonstrate commitment to build, support, and nurture future talent 
  • Nominees would typically be mid-career to senior 
  • Open to nominees based in the UK or internationally 
  • This award is open to individuals, teams and organisations 

The Awards Committee will consider the following aspects of all nominations for the Biochemical Society Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research 
  • Impact and scope of research 
  • Quality of outputs – publications and/or patents and/or software 
  • Commitment to build, support, and nurture future talent e.g., mentorship 
  • Other indicators of esteem demonstrated by the nominator      

Contact us

Get in touch with our Awards Department if you have any questions   


  • 2021: Janet Thornton
  • 2019: Paul Bieniasz for ‘demonstrating the use of biochemistry in helping combat infectious diseases’
  • 2017: Keith Gull for ”‘Biochemistry plus.’’ An outstanding individual who has not only achieved as stellar research scientist, but who has also undertaken activities that have had substantial impact in bioscience related areas outside the laboratory’
  • 2015: Nick Lane (pictured right) for ‘a sustained and diverse contribution to the molecular life sciences, with a special emphasis on education and/or the public understanding of science’.
  • 2013: Tom Blundell for ‘an outstanding contribution to the development and management of UK molecular bioscience’.
  • 2011: Michael Berridge as ‘a candidate whose research has had a transformative effect on biochemical research’.
  • 2008: Gurdyal Besra for ‘work carried out by a UK scientist that has advanced health in the developing world’.
  • 2006: Martin Raff and Gregory Winter for ‘scientists who have successfully challenged dogma, created a new field of thinking, elucidated a paradigm or made a fundamental change to established thinking’.
  • 2004: David Lane for ‘basic biochemical research and its exploitation for the benefit of society’.
  • 2002: Steven P.R. Rose and Bernard Dixon for ‘scientific communication in the public domain’.